Post-op Day 26: Relaxing

Not a bad day at all. I’ve been a little achy and had occasional twinges.

After being out yesterday I expected to pay for it today. I was pleasantly surprised to find that today wasn’t too bad after all. I’ve definitely been achy and I’ve had twinges of pain now and then but overall it hasn’t been bad at all. At about 0800 and again about 1700 I took two 2 RRET Tylenol.

As for urinating, I used the catheter early this morning then went back to bed. Once I was up for the day (around 0700) I removed the gauze from my penis and cleaned up with saline and cotton sticks (aka Q-tips). Since I planned to spend the day fairly immobile I left the gauze off all day. I also voided through my urethra all day (which burned just a little but it wasn’t bad).

I’m still picking up a bit of blood residue in the area of the vaginal closure. This is normal since there was a very small opening left for this purpose. In time it will heal closed.

    • Rob
    • November 22nd, 2010

    Crossing my fingers for you everyday that you are complication-free. : )

    Have you experienced pain from your vaginal closure? I understand that there is some pain involved, but was there more pain from the closure as compared to your overall metoidioplasty?

    • I believe there is. The “twinges” and occasional sharp pains I get are definitely in that area. I’m not sure if it’s tissue healing or that and the stitches combined but the twinges can be pretty sharp sometimes.

      In the penis I’ve had very little pain, if any.

    • Kai
    • November 23rd, 2010

    Glad to hear things are going well. I know a post or two ago you said you choose to sit rather than stand. Is this still the case? (Tell me to STFU if I am being too nosey).

    • Yep, I’d still rather sit. I’ve been busy and haven’t had a chance to try out standing. When I do try it I’ll be in the shower. I know that the stream comes out to the right and don’t know yet how much – and my fat mons will probably make holding my penis tricky.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

