Post-op Day 33: Catheter out

Yesterday my primary care doctor removed the supra-pubic catheter. It wasn’t painful at all. Just a weird little tug then an odd sensation… I know, that doesn’t explain much, lol. It was a very odd feeling but not the least bit uncomfortable.

Before removing the catheter he used a syringe to draw the last bit of urine from my bladder and to deflate the balloon holding the supra-pubic catheter in place in my bladder. I had just used the bathroom but he drew 60cc of urine out. Apparently I haven’t been emptying my bladder completely. I told my doc I thought it was because completely emptying my bladder while the catheter was in place had been uncomfortable. Because of that I probably stopped short without realizing what I was doing. My doctor told me that I really need to empty my bladder completely in order to avoid infection.

As suggested by Cris (in the comments) I’ll try gently pressing on my lower abdomen to help get the remaining urine out of my bladder. Once the bladder heals from the catheter it should empty completely as it did before.

My doc looked everything else over, including the inside of my mouth (the buccal mucosa graft donor site), and said he thought I was healing well though he thought I should stay off work a few more weeks. This was not a directive, just his opinion given my work environment which involves driving for extended periods of time.

Today

Today I’ve been a little achy for some reason. The swelling in my scrotum went down several days ago but today it feels like I have that pressure again. I don’t really know why – maybe I moved around too much this morning with laundry and cleaning house. I’ll be glad when it goes away.

At about 1800 I took two RRET Tylenol.

At about 2220 I took a Norco. It feels like someone is pinching me.

EDIT: I think I may have popped a stitch. When I clean the midline of my scrotum with a saline-soaked cotton swab (aka Q-tip) there is a bit of stinging back near where I can still see a couple of stitches.

    • Cris
    • November 30th, 2010

    I found once my bladder was no longer tender where the suprapubic catheter was it was easier to fully empty my bladder.

    A trick I used til I got to that point was gently press on my lower abdomen to help squeeze out the last bit of urine since my bladder was tender and didnt fully do that on it’s own. (3 months post op and I am perfectly fine.

    Happy Healin!

    • Thanks Cris. I told my doc I thought it was because completely emptying my bladder with the catheter was uncomfortable. Because of that I probably stopped short without realizing what I was doing.
      I’ll use that “pressing gently on the abdomen” trick for now. 🙂

  1. December 11th, 2010

Leave a Reply

