5 Weeks, 2 Days: Yellow Discharge

If you’ve been reading this blog you know I had my catheter removed on Monday (4 days ago). I had a bit of infection at the entry, including a very small amount of pus discharge, so I have continued antibiotics with the approval of my doctor. I still have 5 more antibiotic pills remaining. The catheter entry point is healing well and does not seem to be unnaturally inflamed.

Now for the yellow-colored discharge.

This morning I had quite a lot of yellow-colored fluid come out of the hole left at the rear end of the vaginal closure along the mid-line of my scrotum. I have had a very tiny amount of blood coming out there for a couple of weeks (which I believe is normal) but today is the first time I have had this yellow discharge. I used baby wipes and saline-soaked cotton sticks (aka Q-tips) to clean the area. This morning it was perhaps 4 or 5 ml of fluid total and it was enough to get on my underwear.

Throughout today I have still had a bit of yellow fluid coming from that hole but not in the amount I had this morning. I only see it now if I touch the spot with a saline-soaked cotton stick, a baby wipe, or toilet paper.

I suspect it may be a yeast (or similar) infection due to the antibiotics. I do take a probiotic daily but that may not be enough to completely counter the effects of the antibiotics. Other suggestions are pus or lymphatic fluid. I have my doubts about this (I think it’s too yellow for lymphatic fluid… but then again, I’m not a doctor, lol). I do wonder if the fluid came from around the testicular implant on the right side. The fluid release seemed to coincide with the disappearance of the swelling on the right side of my scrotum.

I emailed my surgeon and he said the most important thing is that the fluid is not urine (it is not). As long as it is not urine and it is yeast infection or some other type of fluid it is a minor problem. He is not terribly concerned and we agreed to wait to see what happens as we both expect the discharge to stop. I can always go to my doctor for cream or whatever.

EDIT to add:
Another guy had a similar experience at about 5 weeks post-op. He said a round of antibiotics cleared it up.

    • Rob
    • December 4th, 2010

    The discharge looks like it has some blood in it if I’m seeing the colors right on my iPad. I know you have been bleeding a little from the initial closure, but if it is indeed a yeast infection from antibiotics, Diflucan works well to address it.

    • Thanks for the info. Yeah, there’s a bit of blood coming out of there which I’ve had for a little while anyway. The amount of fluid has really dropped off so I don’t think it will last much longer.

    • Tom
    • December 5th, 2010

    I’m sorry for being not more smart about this stuff, but I am having trouble visualizing where the puss is coming from. Could you explain another way?

    Thanks so much for the very detailed updates, and I hope you are feeling better soon!

    • Hey, no problem. If you’re wondering, someone else probably is too.
      This fluid is thin, almost as thin as water. And it’s coming from the hole that was left at the rear / lower end of the vaginal closure. I’ll change the wording in the post so the location is more clear.
      I hope that explained it. If not, please let me know. 🙂

  1. December 4th, 2010
  2. December 8th, 2010
  3. December 16th, 2010
  4. December 27th, 2010

Leave a Reply

